YOU COULD MAKE THE DIFFERENCE…

New for plasma donors - An app that allows you to manage your appointments and access many other practical functions! - Log in/Sign up - Discover the new app
New for plasma donors - An app that allows you to manage your appointments and access many other practical functions! - Log in/Sign up - Discover the new app

 

Almost two years ago, Émilie Morneau-Guérin experienced the joy of becoming a mother, and the anguish of finding out that her son Éli, then three-months old, had Kawasaki syndrome, a serious heart disease. It was a true race against time to prevent an aneurism rupture. Luckily, the necessary product was available.

Immunoglobulin preparations were the product in question. Immunoglobulins are proteins found in plasma. They are mainly used in the treatment of certain blood cancers or diseases affecting the immune system. They were administered to Éli intravenously.

Learn more


Lili-Anne, our 10-year-old daughter, and Louis, our 6-year-old son, have each received more than 200 transfusions. They suffer from an immune deficiency and will require transfusions for the rest of their lives because they don’t produce enough antibodies on their own to fight infection. Plasma donations make a big difference in their quality of life every single day.

Being a parent of sick children means being there for them and providing them with love and support. We feel very lucky that donors like you are there for us.

To all the plasma donors out there, thank you for caring about our children and everyone else who counts on you. You are wonderful!

Heidi Labrecque and Patrick Tellier,
Lili-Anne and Louis’s parents

“By the time I was three, I had already undergone numerous examinations and been hospitalized several times, when the hematology and immunology team at Sainte-Justine Hospital diagnosed my condition as immunodeficiency with cyclic neutropenia.

“I immediately began receiving gamma globulin transfusions every four weeks and have had a total of 46 transfusions to date. Thanks to your blood donations, my quality of life has improved greatly.

“That’s why I count on you… to give the gift of life!”

Lauranne

Jean-François needs more than 100 donations per year in order to follow his dreams.

"Throughout my childhood, I dreamed of playing professional hockey with the National Hockey League!

At the age of 18, an accomplished athlete, my life changed dramatically when I was diagnosed with lymphatic cancer. I decided to fight to restore my health. I've received numerous transfusions and several treatments and I'm finally in remission. However, I have to receive gamma globulins from plasma donations regularly, and for the rest of my life.

Thanks to all of the plasma donors who enable me to live my life to the fullest."

Jean-François

VOUS POURRIEZ FAIRE LA DIFFÉRENCE

 

Il y a près de deux ans, Émilie Morneau-Guérin a connu la joie de devenir mère, et l'inquiétude d'apprendre que son fils Éli, alors âgé de trois mois, était atteint du syndrome de Kawasaki, une maladie cardiaque sérieuse. C'était une véritable course contre la montre pour éviter une rupture d'anévrisme. Heureusement, le produit nécessaire était disponible.

Les préparations d'immunoglobulines étaient le produit en question. Les immunoglobulines sont des protéines issues du plasma. Elles sont utilisées principalement dans le traitement de certains cancers du sang ou de maladies affectant le système immunitaire. Elles ont été administrées à Éli par voies intraveineuses.

Lire l'article complet


Nos enfants Lili-Anne (10 ans) et Louis (6 ans) ont reçu chacun plus de 200 transfusions. Tous deux souffrent d'un déficit immunitaire et nécessiteront des transfusions à vie puisqu'ils n'ont pas assez d'anticorps pour se défendre seuls contre les infections. Au quotidien, ce sont les dons de plasma qui améliorent leur qualité de vie.

Avoir des enfants malades, c’est être présents pour eux et les accompagner avec amour dans la maladie. Nous nous sentons privilégiés que des donneurs comme vous comprennent nos besoins et nous soient solidaires!

Merci à tous les donneurs de plasma, de veiller sur nos enfants et sur tous ceux qui ont besoin de vous, vous êtes merveilleux!

Heidi Labrecque et Patrick Tellier,
Parents de Lili-Anne et Louis

« À l’âge de 3 ans, après de nombreux examens et de multiples hospitalisations, l’équipe d’hématologie et d’immunologie de l’hôpital Sainte-Justine a découvert que je souffrais d’un déficit immunitaire ainsi que d’une neutropéniecyclique.

À partir de ce moment, j’ai commencé à recevoir des transfusions de gammaglobulines aux 4 semaines. Jusqu’à ce jour, j’ai reçu 46 transfusions. Grâce à vos dons de sang, ma qualité de vie s’est grandement améliorée.

C’est pourquoi, je compte sur vous pour donner... la vie! »

Lauranne

Jean-François doit recevoir plus de 100 dons par an pour poursuivre ses rêves...

« Toute mon enfance, j'ai rêvé de devenir un joueur de la Ligue nationale de hockey!

À 18 ans, sportif accompli, ma vie a basculé quand j'ai reçu un diagnostic de cancer des ganglions. J'ai décidé de me battre pour recouvrer la santé. Après plusieurs traitements et transfusions sanguines, je me suis enfin retrouvé en rémission. Toutefois, je dois recevoir régulièrement des gammaglobulines provenant de dons de plasma, et ce, pour le reste de ma vie.

Merci à tous les donneurs qui me permettent de vivre pleinement! »

Jean-François